The University of Minnesota Crookston football program officially announced their 2019 football schedule today. The Golden Eagles will play 11 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) games, including six home games at Ed Widseth Field.

The Golden Eagels will open the 2019 season Thursday, September 5 as the Golden Eagles host Minnesota State University Moorhead in the “Red River Valley Showdown” as they battle for the State Farm Traveling Trophy with a 7:05 p.m. kickoff from Ed Widseth Field. 

The Golden Eagles  in their third season under Head Coach Mark Dufner going into the 2019 season. The Golden Eagles made a step in the right direction with their first win in two seasons. UMC is set to return several key players as they look to build on last season. The Golden Eagles return both quarterbacks from last season in Jalin Scott (Sr., QB, Houston, Texas), and Tristan Robbins (So., QB, Muskegon, Michigan). In addition, UMC brings back wide receiver Andy Groebner (So., WR, Andover), who had an outstanding freshman season with 33 catches for 601 yards and three touchdowns. Jonattan Mudd (Sr., WR, Gardena, Calif.) also returns after tallying 23 grabs for 279 yards. On the offensive line, the Golden Eagles return seven players with starting experience.

Defensively, the Golden Eagles are anchored by Will Cross (Jr., LB, Turtle Lake, Wis.), who returns after missing last season due to injury. Cross had 79 tackles and three tackles for loss in 2017. Anchoring the back of the defense is Trevor Long, Jr. (Sr., DB, Brooklyn Park), who tallied 79 tackles with one tackle for loss. Austin Steele (So., LB, La Crosse, Wis.) had a strong debut last season with 77 tackles, five tackles for loss, and three sacks. On the defensive line, the Golden Eagles are anchored by Joe Warner (Sr., DL, St. Louis Park), Ben Branscom (Jr., DL, Woodbury), and Skyler Quinn (Jr., DL, Evansville), who all return from last season. 

Date Opponent Location Home/ Away Time
9/5 MSU-Moorhead Crookston H 7:05 p.m.
9/14 St. Cloud State St. Cloud A 6 p.m.
9/21 Bemidji State  Crookston H 12 p.m.
9/28 Minot State  Crookston H 12 p.m.
10/5 Wayne State Wayne, NE A 1 p.m.
10/12 Sioux Falls (S.D.) Crookston H 12 p.m.
10/19 Upper Iowa Fayette, IA A 3 p.m.
10/26 MSU-Mankato Crookston H 12 p.m.
11/2 Minnesota Duluth Duluth A 1 p.m.
11/9 Northern State  Crookston H 12 p.m.
11/16 University of Mary Bismarck, N.D. A 2 p.m.